Skip to content

Building Code Effectiveness Grading Schedule (BCEGS) Overview, Part 1

May 21, 2012

Photo by: Kristen Skinner, Field Representative

The Building Code Effectiveness Grading Schedule (BCEGS) evaluates the building codes adopted in a community and the community’s enforcement of these codes. BCEGS particularly emphasizes building code requirements designed to mitigate losses from natural hazards.

The concept is simple: communities with effective, well-enforced, up-to-date building codes should demonstrate better loss experience when a catastrophe strikes and insurance rates can reflect that. The prospect of reducing damage to buildings and ultimately lower insurance costs provides an incentive for communities to enforce their building codes rigorously.

Data is collected and the community is assigned a classification of 1 to 10. A Classification of 1 represents exemplary commitment to building code enforcement; a classification of 10 indicates no recognizable building code enforcement. Insurers can use the BCEGS classifications for insurance rating and underwriting purposes – generally offering lower premiums in communities with better protection. Any building constructed in the year a community is classified or later will be eligible for the classification of the community.

For more information on the Building Code Effectiveness Classifications contact Dave Tofte at 206-273-7159


Read Part II of our BCEGS series.

Article by: Dave Tofte, BCEGS Specialists


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: