Skip to content

Christmas Shopping for the Fire Protection Geek

December 9, 2013

A few days ago my boyfriend asked me to write my Christmas list so he could get his shopping for me done. And let’s be honest, as much as I write about fire safety, a fire extinguisher or fire escape ladder just wasn’t on my list. But it did get me thinking: can fire safety be…cool? What would I buy if I had a firefighter on my list? Or if I wanted to inadvertently remind my family and friends to be fire safe? So I set to the internet and found out!Fire Protection Gifts

–          Etsy user RedElmDesigns has some really cool recycled fire hydrant crayons that I think any kid would just love! They come in a variety of colors and shapes.

–          I loved this fire extinguisher lamp available at 1lightartlamps.com (scroll down a ways to find it). It would be a great addition to a reading area or firehouse! They also have a firefighter hat lamp shade on a hose nozzle lamp base!

–          For the camper in your life, these extendable marshmallow roasting sticks will help you safely cook your hotdogs or marshmallows without getting too close to the flames.

–          These LED mini lanterns from Brookstone.com would make a great stocking stuffer and are excellent for your emergency kit!

–          The Lint Lizard helps remove lint from your dryer. Clothes dryer fires peak in the winter months, and according to the NFPA, washing machine and dryers accounted for 4.5% of home fires! The lint lizard can help keep your dryer lint under control.

–          HSN has these amazing sparkly flameless candles with remote for only $30! I might have to add this one to my Christmas list : )

–         Safe Candle Alternative Lastly, from baxterboo.com is a ceramic water bowl for dogs. Any plastic or ceramic dog bowl will do, but I thought this one was especially cute. Did you know there are many stories (like here and here) of fires starting because of glass dog water bowls being left on wooden decks? When the sun reflects off of the bowl, a fire can easily start. The Bellevue Fire Department even put it to the test.

Last, but certainly not least, if you, your friends, or anyone in your family has recently purchased a multiple-story house, fire safety ladders and extinguishers are awesome gifts—even if they’re just for a housewarming and not for the holidays. You can find them just about anywhere, but here are a couple options:

–          This ladder from Home Depot is 25’ long and holds up to 500 lbs. It’s also UL listed.

–          Home Depot also has a wide selection of fire extinguishers, including Class K extinguishers for restaurants, as well as B:C extinguishers for home kitchens and garages.

 

Article by: Kristen Skinner

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

